art fisher memorial scholarship

The Automotive Warehouse Distributors Association (AWDA) presented the 2016 Art Fisher Memorial Scholarship Award to Cliff Hovis, president, Hovis Auto and Truck Supply for the company’s long-standing support for training and education within the auto care industry.  

The award was presented by Bobby Segal, CEO, Automotive Supply Associates, on November 1 at AWDA’s 2016 Annual Conference in Las Vegas.

The Art Fisher Memorial Scholarship Award is presented annually to an aftermarket company or individual who demonstrates outstanding commitment to education and training, either within their own organization or throughout the industry.  Given in memory of former AWDA chairman Art Fisher, the award grants scholarships in the name of the award winner to two students enrolled in the automotive aftermarket management program at Northwood University.

Hovis, who serves as president of the family owned chain of auto parts stores, built the world class Hovis Technical Training Center in Mercer, Penn., committed to providing comprehensive instruction, technical materials and educational programs to automotive and heavy duty vehicle service and repair technicians, machinists and paint and body professionals. The center offers a learning environment that utilizes a blend of classroom education and hands-on training.

Hovis has served on the Federated Auto Parts executive committee and board of governors as well as the AWDA board of governors and the Auto Care Association Government Affairs Committee.  He received the Mort Schwartz Excellence in Education Award in 2013.

Hovis has also been a tireless advocate for career promotion and development for the industry. He has been a passionate supporter and champion for the Young Autocare Network Group (YANG), AWDA Internship Grants and Next Step Scholarships and was the driving force behind the development of a new and highly successful College Outreach Program.

“Cliff built a tremendous state of the art training center in Pennsylvania and has continually advocated for more aftermarket training and funding,” said Richard Beirne, vice president, corporate development, Automotive Parts Headquarters.

“His interest in helping move this industry forward by training the younger generation is second to none,” said Dave Shapiro, Sales Associate, SRS Marketing Company. ”Cliff is a leader that others follow.”

“Cliff exemplifies everything that Art Fisher believed in – organizational development and empowering young people,” said Bobby Segal.

“One of the most important things that Art Fisher stressed was education, which he preached that our industry could never have too much of.  Cliff adopted that belief and ran with it,” said Tim Trudnowski, president and general manager, Automotive Jobbers Supply.

 Previous award recipients 

  • 2016 Cliff Hovis
  • 2015 Tim Sturdevant
  • 2014 David Wesselman
  • 2013 James A. Tennant, AAP
  • 2012 Pete Kornafel
  • 2011 Steve Hoellein
  • 2010 John N. Castle
  • 2009 Federal-Mogul Corp. Technical Education Center
  • 2008 David Caracci
  • 2007 Fred Bunting
  • 2006 KYB America
  • 2005 Larry Sills
  • 2004 Richard Beirne and Ron Levene
  • 2003 MEMA
  • 2002 Art Fisher
  • 2001 Ted Wise, AAP
  • 2000 Chuck Udell, AAP
  • 1999 Marc Gelfand, AAP
  • 1998 Raymond Walker, AAP
  • 1997 Louis A. Zuanich, AAP
  • 1996 Tim Lee, AAP
  • 1995 Annie Kornafel, AAP
  • 1994 Bill Kuykendall, MAAP
  • 1993 Gary Kremer, AAP
  • 1993 Clay Buzzard, AAP
  • 1992 Aaron Berkowitz
  • 1991 N. Arthur Epstein, AAP*
  • 1990 Kenneth D. Walker, AAP
  • 1989 Robert H. Raff, MAAP
  • 1988 Jay L. Love
  • 1987 Raymond P. Peck
  • 1986 Larry Anton
  • 1985 Donald E. Edelmann
  • 1984 C. Hamilton Sloan
  • 1983 James L. Fine
  • 1982 Frederic S. Kotcher
  • 1981 Peter R. Kornafel, MAAP
  • 1980 Robert L. Sirotek, AAP
  • 1979 Emil G. Stanley*
  • 1978 Richard B. Black
  • 1977 O. Temple Sloan
  • 1976 Charles N. Gaskill, AAP*
  • 1975 Mort Schwartz, AAP
  • 1974 Dunbar Abston Jr.
  • 1973 Martin G. Brown
  • 1972 Sam Nakis
  • 1971 Herbert Lipton
  • 1970 R. Jack Alexander Jr.
  • 1969 S.G. Puryear
  • 1968 Frank Norfleet
  • 1967 Harry D. Rothman*
  • 1966 Ran P. Hall
The AWDA Memorial Scholarship Award was preceded by the Ernest A. Tapp Memorial Award. The recipients of this award are:
  • 1965 John M. Yantis
  • 1964 Bernard Bock
  • 1963 Paul Livoni
  • 1962 A.P. Walter
  • 1961 Jack F. Whitaker
  • 1960 Thomas S. Perry, AAP
  • Share